Our trip to Taif!

A couple of weekends back my husband decided to take a day trip to Taif.  He visited there before the kids and I got to KSA , and he really wanted the kids to see the monkeys hanging out in the area.

Somehow everyone managed to get up a little earlier than usual on that particular Thursday.  I took a few pictures along the way, but kept my camera up most of the trip up to make sure I had plenty of battery life for our day in Taif.

As Christians, it was kinda obvious which direction we needed to head.

As Christians, it was kinda obvious which direction we needed to head.

Just a group of camels hanging out by the road.  We pulled over for a few minutes to watch them, but basically all they did was stand there and eat.

Just a group of camels hanging out by the road. We pulled over for a few minutes to watch them, but basically all they did was stand there and eat.

There were a couple of fun guys hanging out though:

I LOVE the photobombing camel in the back!  I wish I would have noticed him when I was taking the picture, I would have been sure to get him in focus as well.

I LOVE the photobombing camel in the back! I wish I would have noticed him when I was taking the picture, I would have been sure to get him in focus as well.

And this guy.  Pretty sure this guy knew what I was doing with my camera.  I mean, he even gave me the Elvis smirk.

A flirtatious camel?

A flirtatious camel?

After close to two hours of driving we found a little scenic lookout and decided to take a minute to enjoy the view.

My daughter enjoying the quick break

My daughter enjoying the quick break

We got back into the car and a quarter mile later found a roadblock.  About two hours in, maybe 30 minutes from our final destination, our roadtrip had to come to an end.

We’re hoping to make the trip again soon, maybe next time we’ll actually make it to Taif!

 

xoxo,
American Kat

About americankat

I am an American expat living in Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates. Most of my time is spent creating, trying to keep my two kids occupied, and trying to satiate my wanderlust. Americankat.com is where I (sporadically) share these adventures.
This entry was posted in Saudi Arabia and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Our trip to Taif!

  1. Laura Bucher says:

    What an adventure for you all!

  2. Layla says:

    Hi there Kat! Nice pics, lovely place!
    P.S I love your profile pic 🙂

  3. Layla says:

    I’m glad to hear that 🙂 hope you find Taif next time around! This happens to my husband and me all the time, we get lost or don’t find what we went looking for, but actually that way we’ve discovered cool new places too!

  4. warero says:

    Reblogged this on Javmode and commented:
    A lane for muslims only?

Let me know what you thought about this post:

