Marvel Goes Girly

Way back before we moved to Saudi, I found this awesome cotton fabric at Joann’s:

Marvel Retro Smashing  www.joann.com

Marvel Retro Smashing
http://www.joann.com

As soon as my daughter saw it she was in love.  With it being a bit of a heavy cotton I had no idea what to do with it, so I just bought a couple of yards and held on to it until inspiration struck.  Finally, after at least five months of it sitting around, I decided it would have to be a skirt.  There was no other option, a dress wouldn’t drape at all, a pillow would get ruined in about two nights, and I don’t have a clue how to make a pair of shorts using only a serger.

Oh yeah, I should have mentioned that earlier…when we moved we packed light.  As in only one-two suitcases per person.  So, there I was with two yards of fabric, a zipper, and a serger that I bought after about five minutes of living here.  A bit of brainstorming, lots of horrible drawing, and a few measurements later, I cut into the only Marvel fabric in the country.  Somehow, I ended up with a skirt I am incredibly proud of.  A cute little waistband, a zipper, and pleats for movement!

I am outrageously proud of this whole situation happening right here:  a waistband and pleat!

I am outrageously proud of this whole situation happening right here: a waistband and pleat!

americankat hero kids

My son as Captain America, and my daughter as "Thor's daughter"

My son as Captain America, and my daughter as “Thor’s daughter”

 

linking up to:

calling all kids

xoxo,
American Kat

 

About americankat

I am an American expat living in Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates. Most of my time is spent creating, trying to keep my two kids occupied, and trying to satiate my wanderlust. Americankat.com is where I (sporadically) share these adventures.
This entry was posted in Saudi Arabia, Sewing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Marvel Goes Girly

  1. Sissy says:

    I love seeing “boys” prints in girly applications!

Let me know what you thought about this post:

