How the Red Sea Changed My Life

That title sounds a bit ridiculous, right?  But, it’s definitely the truth.  To be completely honest, before we moved to Jeddah I was not comfortable in water over my head.  To be even more honest, I was scared of water more than about four feet deep!  I’ve never been a strong swimmer and I never learned how to tread water…so I didn’t spend much time putting much more than my feet in the water.  Oh, and did I mention my fear of fish?

While American Kids and I were waiting for our visas to be approved, American Husband went snorkeling almost every weekend.  Even though I was super jealous of him I didn’t think I would ever face my fears and join in.  Somehow (with a lot of coaxing) AH managed to get me in the water and I quickly started to enjoy myself.  Over the last few months I have even faced my fear of fish and I’m actually comfortable being surrounded by them!

zebrafish are my homies  © American Kat in Jeddah 2013

Here are a few pictures from this weekend out in the Red Sea:

This picture was taken from about 20+ feet from the surface!

This picture was taken from about 20+ feet from the surface!

 

red sea © American Kat in Jeddah 2013

 

Can you spot the sea urchin?

Can you spot the sea urchin?

 

Oh nothing, just a puffer fish in a bowl!

Oh nothing, just a puffer fish in a bowl!

 

A sea creature.  I honestly don't know what the heck it is.  Maybe some sea snake/eel thing?

A sea creature. I honestly don’t know what the heck it is. Maybe some sea snake/eel thing?  Maybe an egg sack type thing?

 

A bunch of zebra fish following American Son around.

A bunch of zebra fish following American Son around.

 

American Daughter cheesing it up while American Son has a breakdown.  Just a typical day around here.

American Daughter cheesing it up while American Son has a breakdown. Just a typical day around here.

 

So yeah, it sounds ridiculous, but the Red Sea changed my life.  I absolutely love snorkeling now and I am seriously considering taking some diving classes.

XOXO,
American Kat

About americankat

I am an American expat living in Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates. Most of my time is spent creating, trying to keep my two kids occupied, and trying to satiate my wanderlust. Americankat.com is where I (sporadically) share these adventures.
This entry was posted in Saudi Arabia and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to How the Red Sea Changed My Life

  1. ncdads says:

    Thanks for sharing. I loved reading Wordless Wednesday, look forward to more!

  2. Where do you go to snorkel in Jeddah!? Looks fun. I would love to try that.

Let me know what you thought about this post:

