Maintaining the Crazy

Before moving to Saudi Arabia I got into art journaling. It was my personal form of therapy. I could sit down and be mesmerized for hours. Sometimes it was soothing, sometimes it was depressing, and sometimes it was absolutely manic…the thing was I was able to create without thinking. Here are a few of my favorite pages from pre-Saudi. Warning: these are scans, my scanner bed is slightly smaller than my journal, some of the colors are inaccurate, and most of the textures look flat.

my mind rebels  © American Kat in Jeddah 2013

“My mind rebels at stagnation; give me problems, give me work.”
-Sherlock Holmes

i'll pretend  © American Kat in Jeddah 2013

comfortable chaos  © American Kat in Jeddah 2013

going mad  © American Kat in Jeddah 2013

When preparing for the move I donated all of my art supplies. Thousands of dollars of paints, stamps, fabrics, gessos, etc. When I arrived in Jeddah, I used that as an excuse not to journal. I’ve been slowly gathering supplies and trying to get back into the habit of journaling somewhat regularly, but it’s not happening. In the entire five months I have been here, here are the only pages I have made:

untitled  © American Kat in Jeddah 2013

we are young  © American Kat in Jeddah 2013

waking up doodle  © American Kat in Jeddah 2013

I’ve decided to force myself to create at least one page a week. Forced art is never as good as organic work, but it’s better than nothing, right?  How do you maintain your crazy?  Making art, exercising, meditating?

xoxo,
American Kat

About americankat

I am an American expat living in Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates. Most of my time is spent creating, trying to keep my two kids occupied, and trying to satiate my wanderlust. Americankat.com is where I (sporadically) share these adventures.
This entry was posted in Saudi Arabia. Bookmark the permalink.

Let me know what you thought about this post:

