Guess what…

Chicken butt.

Sorry about that, blame it on American Husband.  I can’t say “guess what” around my kids without that being the immediate response.

And no, I am not pregnant.  My tubes have been tied (clipped) for over a year, thank you very much.

I’m  actually writing this to share some huge news with you guys.  {Btw, it is pretty much 3am and I’m typing on my phone, please overlook any typos and ramblings  that may occur.}  I am currently one full week off of my antidepressant!  

I am at an amazing point in my life so I figured it would be the perfect time to focus on getting healthy without medication.  For about two weeks I weaned myself off of the Lexapro that I have been taking for a year.  Stepping down from 20mgs to 10mgs to 5mgs was easy peasy for me, no side effects.  But the first day at 0 was Hell.  Brain zaps and lethargy galore.  I went two days med free before I had to take a 5mg pill just to feel somewhat alive.  From there I went another two or three days before I gave in to the symptoms and took another 5mg. 

At that point I researched ways to detox from Lexapro quicker and I came up with my own little detox plan.  Along with my breakfast every morning I started taking a Fish Oil supplement, I started drinking more water, and I also drank detox tea 2-4 times a day. 

As of today I am seven days Lexapro free.  The brain zaps are down to a minimum and I think they will be totally gone within another day or two. 

Disclaimer 1:  I have not gone crazy, promise.  There are multiple reasons I decided to go off the Lexapro:
  •I never intended to be on any antidepressant for this long of a period.  It was mainly to help me deal with the Saudi Arabia transition.
  •I hate taking prescriptions.  If I have a problem I always try natural remedies first. 
  •I very strongly believe the Lexapro was a big part of my excessive weight gain of the last year. 

Disclaimer 2:  Please remember that I am not a medical professional, if you feel like you are ready to go off of any medication, talk to your doctor. 

So yeah.  That’s that.  I promised you guys honesty, so here it is!

About americankat

I am an American expat living in Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates. Most of my time is spent creating, trying to keep my two kids occupied, and trying to satiate my wanderlust. Americankat.com is where I (sporadically) share these adventures.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Guess what…

  1. David Lassiter says:

    Go Kat! Good for you! I never liked being “medicated” either…

  2. David Lassiter says:

    When you get back Stateside we should definitely hang out. 🙂

  3. I have tried going without lexapro and I don’t like the results.,I asked my dr if I could take something else and she said that what I am taking is the best thing for me.so I will continue to be my bid ole self. right now with you all gone I can not even think about not taking my meds. I love you guys.take care of your self.glad you all are at a good place now.

Let me know what you thought about this post:

