Today

Today started out pretty normal, a little hectic because I slept an extra five minutes. I made Cameron’s snack and lunch, packed it all up with just enough time to sit with him a few minutes while waiting on the bus. After I sent him off I parked myself on the couch to catch up with some of the social media I missed while sleeping. And then I heard a child screaming.

Here’s the thing, there are kids constantly screaming on our compound…but, 7am is a little early for screaming. I waited until I heard it again and I ran upstairs to check on Alana. I walked into her room to see her laying on the floor, crying.

I asked her what was wrong and only got more screaming. I got on the floor with her and found that she was laying in a small pool of water. Hoping she was crying because she vomited I tried to calm her down. It wasn’t working. She just kept crying and couldn’t form any coherent words. I picked her up, she was limp.

I took her downstairs and kept trying to get her calm. After vomiting and then cuddling with me she finally calmed down enough to answer questions. She said she didn’t know what was wrong and she hurt her head when she fell…she didn’t remember falling, she just woke up unable to close her mouth (exactly how she described her last seizure) and crying.

Fast forward to Eric coming home and finding a seemingly promising Pediatric Neurologist and we’re all set up for an EEG tomorrow, with a guarantee of starting new seizure meds.

I’m not sure why I’m sharing this. Maybe to get out the words that are choking me. Maybe to share with everyone back home, without answering the same questions over and over. I think mostly to ask for everyone to pray for my little girl. My eight year old who has overcome more than most people ever will, and is still constantly overcoming new challenges.  Just last night she read me an entire story, for the first time.  Happy Alana

Please keep Alana in your thoughts and prayers, send as many positive vibes her way as you possibly can.

signature American Kat 2013

About americankat

I am an American expat living in Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates. Most of my time is spent creating, trying to keep my two kids occupied, and trying to satiate my wanderlust. Americankat.com is where I (sporadically) share these adventures.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Today

  1. Brad says:

    I’m sending thoughts, prayers + hugs your way! She’s beautiful.

  2. Ramona says:

    Aww sweet girl, we will definitely be praying for her and that they will find the right medicine for her.

  3. Keely Oliver says:

    ❤ ❤ *Hugs* for you both ❤

  4. Pingback: URL

Let me know what you thought about this post:

