Everyday

Yesterday I was hanging out in the kitchen, putting up groceries, working on dinner, loading the dishwasher, normal everyday stuff.  Alana came in and jumped up onto the counter to her normal perch.  She started telling me a story, and all of a sudden it hit me…these are the moments that I absolutely live for.  These simple little moments in the middle of the day, when there is still food on her face from lunch and she is more worried about the next song on YouTube than anything else in the world.  This is how I survive the trips to the ER because she fell UP the stairs and split her head open.  Her stitches are out and she is healing beautifully, by the way.

Everyday - Alana - © American Kat  2014
I got caught up in the same feelings this morning with Cameron.  The first 30 minutes of the day is our time.   It is filled with sleepy eyes, chocolate cereal, packed lunches, and encouraging words for the day.

Everyday - Cameron - © American Kat  2014

I try to remind myself to take it all in, because these everyday moments will become the memories that I’ll be holding onto in the upcoming years.
signature American Kat 2013

About americankat

I am an American expat living in Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates. Most of my time is spent creating, trying to keep my two kids occupied, and trying to satiate my wanderlust. Americankat.com is where I (sporadically) share these adventures.
This entry was posted in Abu Dhabi and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Everyday

  1. Brad says:

    Yes, exactly! I constantly have to remind myself to live in the moment, soak it in while it’s happening because one day I’m sure I’ll look back wishing I had. I’m glad Alana is doing better from her fall and Cameron’s backpack… I love it.

Let me know what you thought about this post:

