Free Comic Book Day and the Two Hour Dress

Have you guys heard about Free Comic Book Day?
FCBD14rectangle_2014
It’s as awesome as it sounds, a day for free comics.  Click this link to find a participating shop near you!  I found a place here in UAE that is involved, so give it a try.

Now, about the two hour dress.
wpid-ms-marvel-3-american-kat-2014.jpg.jpeg
I should have finished this dress in about 20 minutes.  Seriously, max – 20 minutes.

But, I think my machines are PMSing.  My sewing machine kept skipping stitches and my serger kept breaking threads.  I rethreaded, adjusted tensions, spilled some tears…nothing helped.  I’m guessing I need to get online and buy some ballpoint needles.

I’m not happy with this dress, at all.  It puckers, it pulls, the yellow fabric shifted out of place while I was *trying* to sew.  Luckily, Alana doesn’t really care, and it is kid approved.
wpid-ms-marvel-2-american-kat-2014.jpg.jpeg

Considering the first comic book we ever bought was Ms Marvel, I think it’s quite fitting for Free Comic Book Day…even though it makes my eye twitch.  This view isn’t so bad:

wpid-ms-marvel-1-american-kat-2014.jpg.jpeg

 

 

***No one paid, coerced, or bribed me to talk about Free Comic Book Day, I just think it is an amazing idea .***

signature American Kat 2013

About americankat

I am an American expat living in Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates. Most of my time is spent creating, trying to keep my two kids occupied, and trying to satiate my wanderlust. Americankat.com is where I (sporadically) share these adventures.
This entry was posted in Abu Dhabi, Sewing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Free Comic Book Day and the Two Hour Dress

  1. joyce says:

    I love it.looks good on Alana

  2. Pingback: May the Fourth Be With You and a More Subtle Star Wars Reference | American Kat

Let me know what you thought about this post:

