May the Fourth Be With You and a More Subtle Star Wars Reference

Happy Star Wars Day, y’all!

In honor of this joyous holiday I knew I had to make something.  Make being used very loosely here, I didn’t know if I wanted to sew a garment, a stuffie, paint a canvas, make themed weapons…I just knew I wanted to create.

A couple of weeks ago we were walking around a fabric store and Alana fell in love with this crushed velvet/velour/whatever else that fuzzy c. 1998 fuzzy shit could have possibly been.  Luckily we were on a mission to buy fabric for her Ms Marvel dress and I convinced her she didn’t need it.  {Yes I know it was terrible of me to tell my child no, don’t lecture me.}

But then, as a family, we started watching Star Wars and I was immediately struck with inspiration.  The handmaidens from Episode I:

Bimaa inspiration 1

screenshot from my computer

screenshots from my computer

Do you see that velvety goodness?   I’ve been eyeballing the Bimaa Sweater forever, and I just knew that pairing that pattern with Alana’s terrible fabric choice was going to be a winner.

I didn’t want to go full on cosplay for this look, nor did I want to do any excessive piecing or dying…so I went simple

Star Wars Day 2 ©American Kat  2014

Simple, as in solid orange, with the only color break being the yellow hood lining.

See...yellow lining ftw.

See…yellow lining ftw.

I took this shot to show off the star top-stitching...but I got distracted by Alana's beauty and focused on her face instead of the hood.

I took this shot to show off the star top-stitching…but I got distracted by Alana’s beauty and focused on her face instead of the hood.

Meet Lola.  Or Melissa.  Her name changes every now and then.

Meet Lola. Or Melissa. Her name changes every now and then.

My Bimaa experience:

  • Alana will be 9 next month, but she is still pretty tiny.  The Bimaa pattern only goes up to 6.  I threw caution to the wind and cut the 6, with hopes that it would fit.  It’s a little snug, but that’s exactly how she likes her clothes right now.
  • Although I cut a 6, I did add 3 inches to the length of the front, back, and sleeve pieces.
  • I did not use a 4 way stretch fabric.  I’m honestly not sure I could even find a 4 way stretch in the emirate if I wanted to.  This fabric was a solid 1 way stretch, lol.
  • I did not add seam allowances.  I think I probably should have?  I’m still not 100% sure.
  • I haven’t really sewn in pretty close to a year, but I had no problems at all following the instructions.  With a little patience, a beginner could easily knock a Bimaa out.

And that’s that.

May the force be with you.

 

signature American Kat 2013

 

About americankat

I am an American expat living in Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates. Most of my time is spent creating, trying to keep my two kids occupied, and trying to satiate my wanderlust. Americankat.com is where I (sporadically) share these adventures.
This entry was posted in Sewing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to May the Fourth Be With You and a More Subtle Star Wars Reference

  1. joyce says:

    Alana is beautiful, no matter what she wears. love the capture of her face,

Let me know what you thought about this post:

