Homeschooling (Part One)

If at any given time you feel the need to start a debate, mention homeschooling.  Everyone has an opinion.  EVERYONE.  Ask me how I know.  But, that’s not what this post is about.  I have no intentions of setting up a debate, please respect that.

Alana has been homeschooled since late 2011.  (I swear, some days are so long I can barely make it through them, but I can’t believe we’ve been on this journey for almost three years.)  We started homeschooling for reasons I prefer not to get into, but I will say that I wasn’t happy with the school district we were in at the time.  When we made the decision to pull her out of public school it was meant as a temporary fix.  Eric was fresh out of the military and we were house hunting, so we were living in a house our in-laws owned, with every intent of getting out as fast as possible.  Get out, we did.  We moved into our new house in April of 2012, and since it was the absolute tail end of a school year, we decided to keep Alana home and enroll her in the fall.

It was a great plan.

Until July came and Eric got offered the Saudi job.

He left in August.  Once it was verified that the family would be able to join him in Saudi within a short time, we figured it only made sense to continue homeschooling.  So we did.  We finally joined him in December.

January rolled around, a new semester started, and we looked into the one school that Eric’s company approved of.  It was a private school, with an American curriculum, who claimed to have the ability to help students who weren’t quite on grade level.

I talked to the head of the school and we immediately came to the conclusion that it wasn’t a good fit for Alana.

So, we continued homeschooling.

We moved to Abu Dhabi, and while there are more approved schools here, they still aren’t a good fit for Alana.

I’m sure I’ve mentioned it before, but Alana has learning disabilities.  She had a stroke shortly before or after birth, she has ADHD, aphasia, and a cognitive disorder (NOS).  It just isn’t feasible for her to be on grade level, and sometimes keeping up at two grade levels behind is troublesome for her.

So, again, we continue homeschooling.

homeschooling 1 © American Kat 2014

 

signature American Kat 2013

 

About americankat

I am an American expat living in Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates. Most of my time is spent creating, trying to keep my two kids occupied, and trying to satiate my wanderlust. Americankat.com is where I (sporadically) share these adventures.
This entry was posted in Homeschooling and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Homeschooling (Part One)

  1. Brad says:

    I love this. Homeschooling fascinates me and I admire anyone who does it as I can only imagine the challenges (and triumphs) that come along with it. I can’t wait for part two.

  2. Ramona says:

    You are an awesome mom. Alana is so blessed to have someone who puts her needs first. You take the time to help her grow and thrive despite obstacles, you rock!

  3. Pingback: Homeschooling (Part Two) |

  4. Pingback: Homeschooling (Part Three) |

Let me know what you thought about this post:

