Sew Geeky: Marvel vs DC

You guys.

pic courtesy of Max-California

pic courtesy of Max-California

This month’s Sew Geeky theme is Marvel vs DC and I could not possibly be happier about it.  If there is one thing that our entire family is able to geek out over, it is Marvel.  When Cameron found out I would be sewing something for him, he jumped at the chance to get a Captain America suit.

Sew Geeky Marvel vs DC  2 © American Kat 2014He adores it.  Like, he has probably worn the outfit 6 out of the last 8 days.

Sew Geeky Marvel vs DC  5 © American Kat 2014I knew I wanted to make separates, but I also knew that it had to be a super cohesive look that Cameron would be acceptable of (or he would literally never wear the pieces).   I used the Bimaa Sweater and Hosh Pants by LouBeeClothing, which obviously look amazing together.

Sew Geeky Marvel vs DC  6 © American Kat 2014I actually had to very little work to get the Bimaa hood to turn into a superhero cowl!  I cut the pieces by the pattern, but when sewing the lining to the outer shell I added a piece of 1/4″ elastic.  Cameron can still pull it over his massive noggin + I didn’t have to do any extra drafting = super win for me.  The eye holes were cut out, satin stitched, and then turned under and topstitched.  As for the “A”…that’s where I had problems.  I did a reverse applique, but didn’t stabilize my fabric enough, so while the top looks great, the A’s legs look a little wonky.  I just used a permanent maker to fill in the wonkiest of spots and called it a day.

Sew Geeky Marvel vs DC  7 © American Kat 2014 I even finished Cam’s look early enough to do a quick look for Alana.

Sew Geeky Marvel vs DC  4 © American Kat 2014

While it’s a bit…abstract…both kids recognized the look immediately, so I was able to pat myself on the back again.  Alana’s outfit is based off of Tony Stark (underwear) from the Lego Marvel game.  They play that character, and laugh their butts off, every time they get a chance to play the game, so I was really excited about bringing it to life.

Sew Geeky Marvel vs DC  3 © American Kat 2014Alana’s top is Figgy’s Banyan Tee (boy version, minus the front pocket).  This was my first time sewing up the pattern and I had zero issues.  Her skirt is a double layer square circle skirt, (mostly) following this tutorial.  The arc reactor is polymer clay, and though not perfect, pretty stinking awesome.

Sew Geeky Marvel vs DC  1 © American Kat 2014It was 117 degrees when we were out taking pictures!  Abu Dhabi is HOT right now.  I was really lucky to get a few good pictures, but only because the kids LOVED their clothes, and we were standing just outside of a park.

Sew Geeky Marvel vs DC  8 © American Kat 2014

Luckily, the comic book store was much, much cooler!

 

For more Sew Geeky awesomeness, check out the rest of this month’s crew:Sew Geeky Marvel vs DC  teaserFrom left to right:
Sew Chibi    Casa Crafty   Rae Gun Rambling’s
 Max California   Life of a Compulsive Crafter
The Crafty Kitty   Robutton

 

Sew Geeky Series

 

signature American Kat 2013

 

 

About americankat

I am an American expat living in Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates. Most of my time is spent creating, trying to keep my two kids occupied, and trying to satiate my wanderlust. Americankat.com is where I (sporadically) share these adventures.
This entry was posted in Sewing, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Sew Geeky: Marvel vs DC

  1. Katie says:

    I love it! I especially love how well his separates blend together, I can relate about how finicky kids can be about staying true to the original look!

    • americankat says:

      Thanks! I was counting my lucky stars that I was able to find those blues!
      I’m seriously waiting for Cameron to notice that he doesn’t have red gloves or boots, lol.

  2. I love everything you made but the polymer clay arc reactor is my favourite!

  3. love the kids clothes. so cool. very proud of you for you super talents, love ya

  4. mamaturtle says:

    He is the cutest cap merica ever!

  5. Pingback: DIY Dark Phoenix Costume Tutorial - Rae Gun Ramblings

  6. I love this! That Arc reactor is so cool, but the little Captain America is amaaaazing!

Let me know what you thought about this post:

