Homeschooling (Part Three)

Part One
Part Two

I don’t want to homeschool.

It’s not something I ever planned on doing.  It just happened.  And then it just kept happening.  I want nothing more than to enroll Alana into a good old-fashioned brick and mortar school and let someone who is actually qualified to teach have a go at it.  But, that’s impossible here, special needs kids get left in the dust when it comes to the education system.

Don’t get me wrong, there are times when I absolutely love homeschooling.  I love that moment when understanding finally hits.  I don’t love the three days that it takes for that understanding to come around.

I am extra frustrated because Alana has a beautiful mind.  She can tell you almost every detail she has ever heard about Wolverine.  She can pull out a memory from when she was two years old.  She can tell you about the cutie mark of every MLP she has ever come across.  She can spell any word, phonetically.  On the flip side, give her a spelling word to learn and she will only ever spell it the way she sees it in her brain (magnet will always be magnit, regardless of how many times we practice it).  Spend 15 minutes working together to pick out continents and she won’t be able to pick out Asia on her own.  A simple fill in the blank worksheet?  Two and a half hours.

I’m completely lost in this journey right now.

About americankat

I am an American expat living in Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates. Most of my time is spent creating, trying to keep my two kids occupied, and trying to satiate my wanderlust. Americankat.com is where I (sporadically) share these adventures.
This entry was posted in Homeschooling and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Let me know what you thought about this post:

